Board of Directors


Vera Water and Power is organized and operates under Chapter 87 of the Revised Code of the State of Washington. The financial records are audited annually by the Washington State Auditor and along with other records are available to the public during normal office hours.

The district is governed by a five-member Board of Directors. The Directors are elected to serve staggered, three-year terms, by position. The election is held on the second Tuesday in December each year. In order to file for election, a Declaration of Candidacy and Petition for Nomination must be filed by 5 p.m. on the first Monday in November. The Declaration must indicate which position the filing is for. If only one candidate files for office, no election is held and the single candidate is declared elected.

The Board of Directors is the policy-making body. They are responsible for the adoption of rules and policies which will implement Chapter 87 of R.C.W. The Board of Directors hires a general manager, who is responsible for the administration and day-to-day operation of the District. All employees report to the general manager.

Board of Directors


David Peterson
2024 Chair
Serving since 1996

Floyd Schmedding
Serving since 2002

Bryan St. Clair
2024 Vice Chair
Serving since 2023

Diana Wilhite
Serving since 2018

Steve Wulf
Serving since 2008

Jim Fields
General Manager

Related Articles